I don't like people.


There is hope.

Okay, I know it's just TV and everything and I probably shouldn't be watching TV anyway because there is work I should be doing but it never fucking fails. I was halfway through the season premiere of Sex and the City when Annoying Roommate Helen decides to have a long drawn out conversation with me. I mean, I'm sitting there, obviously in the middle of watching a television show and she comes in to tell me that I wasn't in the apartment at lunchtime (which, oddly, I already knew) and so wasn't able to let her in because she lost her key. She also went on to tell me about her day at work and ask me a never-ending list of questions about getting a credit card in Ireland. Now, I've never gotten a credit card in Ireland and I tell her so. This is not sufficient to end the conversation. She wants me to tell her how having a credit card works. She doesn't know what to use one for but she thought she should have one. Apparently in China, most people don't have credit cards and so she was never really exposed to it. That's what she said. So I spent the last half of my TV show trying to explain what credit cards were. I almost started crying. Now, Annoying Roommate Helen has terrible English. She doesn't speak it a lot and, as a result, her accent is almost impossible to understand; which means not only do I have to ask her to repeat almost everything, but I am never actually certain if she has any idea what I'm talking about. Shane says she understands English perfectly but just can't speak it well. But I have to wonder HOW he knows that she understands it since she is hardly able to say so. Anyway, our conversations usually take two to three times longer than they actually should. Don't misunderstand me, I don't find Annoying Roommate Helen annoying because she has a strong accent. I find her annoying because she constantly interrupts me watching TV to laugh at me for watching TV. I find her annoying because she's loud, messy, and constantly seems to be teasing me for no discernible reason. Actually, I'm not too sure about that last one, because she has a tendency to not be careful about her pronunciation, to trail off when she's speaking, and to burst into laughter in the middle of a sentence. She's actually behaves like a thirteen year old in a 25 year old's body, which has nothing to do with being Chinese or having spotty English. I had a roommate in my last apartment who was Chinese and she was constantly asking me questions about English and the U.S. and stuff. But she didn't fucking interrupt my TV watching to do it. And she was nice. And mature. All of the things Annoying Roommate Helen emphatically is not. See, the thing is, I really don't like her. Which is why extensive conversations with her during which neither one of us seem to have a real idea of what the other is talking about grate on my nerves. I don't want to be outright rude to her because I loathe being rude and also I've noticed that it wouldn't really fix my problem. Shane is rude to her almost daily and she never fucking leaves him alone. He even called her stupid once. I think she didn't talk to him for like a day. Then it was like nothing ever happened. So, that obviously won't work. So I sit there and talk to her and listen to her while surreptitiously glancing at the TV set. I guess I could just stop her politely and say I'm busy watching something. But first of all, it's obvious that I'm watching TV and she clearly doesn't care. Second of all, she already thinks I watch too much TV and such a protest would incite another giggly condemnation of my habits which is even more annoying than actual conversation and then I DO get rude and then she says, "Why aren't you happy?" like those fucking annoying guys you encounter on the street who tell you to "smile" like it's a command or something and it just never seems to get through to her that it is actually her that is annoying me. I've spent far too much thinking about this and typing about it. But she gets on my last. damn. nerve. And like, I know I watch TV kind of a lot. But I don't sit and watch it all day, every day. And she never ever watches it and seems to think this makes her morally superior. Of course, she can kiss my ass at anytime. Most of the time I just ignore her because I'm a big girl and don't need roommate dramatics. But her habit of declaring half the things I say as unequivocally wrong (regardless of whether it is an opinion or I'm telling her about something that happened to me) while she sits there with her goofy grin on her face.... Well, let's just say that I hope I don't end up on the news.

***

In brighter news, I think my thesis is going to be pretty good. So does my advisor. I'm pretty psyched. Except that I can't make myself work on it to save my life. This happened before. I've written most of two chapters and I have to write my third. I know what I want to say but I am certain that when I sit down to write it, it won't be what I want it to be or it'll be too short or something. God, I need some drugs.

***

Okay, I know 11:15pm isn't like really, really late or anything but it's a little last for Annoying Roommate Helen's fucking friends to be holding down the damn doorbell so it rings like nine times. I'm not in bed but somebody might be and even if they're not, who does that?? Who are these people? Shane was up at fucking 8am yesterday and proceeded to turn up the movie he was watching so he could hear it in the kitchen, over the sound of the water, while he was doing the dishes. Okay, now, I'm glad he was kind enough to do the dishes, but a movie with shoot-outs and chase scenes at full volume at eight in the morning? I'm right next to the TV room and these walls are not thick. I have not complained since I moved in at the beginning of June, despite his penchant for having the TV at ridiculously high volume all the time. Partly because he never did it really late and because the roommate I had in the last apartment whose room shared a wall with the TV room complained constantly and I hated it. But, really. He fucking woke me up two hours before I had to get up and once I wake up, it's nearly impossible for me to fall back asleep. And you know what he fucking said when I went out there, all haphazard in my robe and shit? I mean, he apologized, but then he goes, "I'm nearly done anyway." Like with the dishes. Was he fucking kidding? Do I fucking look like I fucking care if you're almost done with the dishes, motherfucker? I could not care less if you have the luxury of watching your stupid ass movie while doing some chores, have some fucking respect for the people you live with, you little mama's boy PRAT! I know I had a mean-ass look on my face when I went out there to ask him to turn it down and I was back in my room taking off my robe by the time he finished saying he was almost done. I have only seen him once since then and we ended up in an argument about the Terminator movies. So I don't know if he realized how pissed off I was or if he's annoyed at me. I wish he would be. I'm PMSing and in a bad mood and I feel like going off on someone.

***

I watched Out of Sight again last night. Mmm, George Clooney. It was so good. DAMN YOU Jennifer Lopez! Damn you to hell for creating the J.Lo Monster!

***

Humph. Now I'm going to TWoP to find out what happened in the second half of Sex and the City.

before -- after

Wanting: to go home
Needing: chocolate
Waiting: for my bro to visit (only 5 days!)


Terror Alert Level

� miss any?
Good bye. - March 12, 2006
2006 - January 10, 2006
I'm damn smart. The internet says so. - December 22, 2005
Rape. - December 09, 2005
Scatterbrain. - November 28, 2005

written on July 31, 2003 at 10:31 p.m.
latest
older
profile
random facts
fucklist
wishes
links
booklist
rings'n'cliques
quotes
notes
design
host