Be true to your school.


There is hope.

I'm stealing this from Heidi who stole it from someone else who stole it from someone else and so on and so forth.


HIGH SCHOOL!


What year was it? 1989 to 1993


What were your favorite bands or musical artists? In high school I had embarrassing taste. I never wore most of the concert t-shirts I got. I liked pretty much what was Top 40. But I had an unnatural affinity for the New Kids on the Block for the first two years of high school. Countless concerts and issues of Bop! But I also liked Aerosmith, Bon Jovi, Eric Clapton, Harry Connick, Jr., and Depeche Mode.


What was your favorite outfit? God, I'm not sure. I know standard fare was a big t-shirt and leggings. I was skinny in high school but the fashion was to wear big clothes. But the t-shirt/leggings combo always made me feel thin.


What was up with your hair? Well, I wasn't much of a rebel or anything but I changed my hair constantly because my parents didn't care. It was long and straight freshman year, long and curly sophomore year. Then I bobbed it and dyed it black. Then I grew it out again junior year. Then, right before graduation, I permed it and bobbed it again. I never looked like my school ID.


Who were your best friends? There was a whole gaggle of us. Kathy, Beth, Alida, Rachel, Kim, Kerri, Colleen, Georganne and sometimes Liz and Karen. I suppose Kathy came the closest to being my best friend. She certainly is now.


Where did you work? I only worked sporadically. I worked for my mom for a while. Then at a deli in town.


Did you fight with your parents? Not really. My father would yell and we would listen. My mom and I had silly teenage girl-type arguments every once in a while. But mostly we all were in it together, trying to survive my dad.


Who did you have a CELEBRITY crush on? God, who DIDN�T I have a crush on? The fairly significant ones were New Kids. At some point I moved from New Kid Donnie to New Kid Jordan. And Luke Perry was in there somewhere too.


Did you smoke cigarettes? Not in high school. Tried it when I was a lot younger �cause they were everywhere: my mom bought cartons. But by high school I was on my high horse about them being disgusting killers. You can�t really argue with a self-righteous 15 year old. Well, you can, but I think you�d enjoy banging your head up against a wall much more.


Did you lug all of your books around in your backpack only because you were too nervous to find your locker? No, we weren�t allowed to carry backpacks around school. My sister was older than me, she helped me find everything.


Did you have a 'clique'? Well, I guess. There was a bunch of us that all hung out together, it was usually about 7 or 8 of us. Sometimes more, sometimes less. It�s not like we were the smart kids or the popular kids or whatever. We were just our own group, I suppose.


Did you have "The Max" like Zach, Kelly, and Slater? Is that the place they always hung out? Well, there wasn�t really anything like that in our town. Baker Square, I guess. There was this place across the street from the school for about 5 minutes called �The Malt Shop� but our school and our town are a little too big, I think, for something like that. Too many fights and bad shit happened, and the place closed in no time.


Admit it, were you popular? Not really. Our school was really big so there wasn�t just ONE group that was popular. People ebbed and flowed. I don�t think a lot of people knew who I was, except the people who knew my dad. Yes, having your father teach and coach at the high school you go to is NOT FUN. I was very�.worried all the time. I was very concerned with getting good grades and not getting into trouble. Not the kind of person �cool� people generally clamor to be around.

Who did you want to be just like? I don�t know, really. There wasn�t really one person. I just admired the girls who were happy with who they were and had confidence and didn�t have problems talking in class or to people (especially guys), like I did.


What did you want to be when you grew up? I had no idea about that, either. I never had a �thing� I always wanted to be. Which made deciding what to study in college difficult but at the same time I didn�t have all these dreams that didn�t get fulfilled. I had this vague notion that I would get married, have kids, and be really cool - all while having this abstract �great job.� My imagination always fails me on at least one major element in fantasies.


before -- after





Terror Alert Level

� miss any?
Good bye. - March 12, 2006
2006 - January 10, 2006
I'm damn smart. The internet says so. - December 22, 2005
Rape. - December 09, 2005
Scatterbrain. - November 28, 2005

written on February 10, 2005 at 2:05 p.m.
latest
older
profile
random facts
fucklist
wishes
links
booklist
rings'n'cliques
quotes
notes
design
host