Oscar buzz.


There is hope.

What is so �controversial� about Chris Rock saying that he didn�t think any black guys watched the Oscars? Is that really a surprise to people? I�m certain he�s right. I know straight white guys who watch the Oscars, but I don�t know any black guys who do. Not that I know that many black guys. But still. My jock brothers watch it. Even so, what is so controversial about saying that? I know he�s agreed to host the Oscars but that doesn�t mean he can�t say things that are true. I mean, I love Whoopi Goldberg, but she�s totally a white person�s black entertainer. She�s established and she�s safe. The attention Rock has garnered from one or two (what I would call) offhand remarks just shows how out of touch everyone is. I have always had a problem with the absolutely unearned blanket of �respect� the Oscars supposedly require. These people who are always spouting off about how the Oscars �isn�t the place� for this or for that and that we should have this extreme reverence for this television show that showcases conspicuous consumption at its most conspicuous. Like Chris Rock says, the show doesn�t actually affect any real person�s life and it�s basically one long Hollywood jerk off. And of course I�m going to watch. I watch every year. That�s not the point. The point is that I enjoy it, but I don�t take it seriously. Michael Moore shouldn�t have yelled at President Bush? Susan Sarandon and Tim Robbins should not have gotten political? Why? You�re in front of a microphone with millions of people watching. I�d say that�s the perfect time to say things you want people to hear. If you don�t agree with what they say, then say so. But asserting that all and sundry should be deferential to the significance of the Oscars, and therefore Rock shouldn�t say anything disparaging about them, is just ridiculous.


Not to mention the fact that nothing in any Oscar telecast that I�ve ever watched was remotely geared toward anyone who wasn�t white and upper/middle class. Chris Rock only watched when Halle Berry and Denzel Washington were nominated? Shock. It�s not just who is nominated, though. Of course, most of the people nominated and in attendance are white and privileged. But the reality is that the majority of ALL TV programming is aimed toward white people, mostly of middle class or higher. So why is it such a big surprise that black people think that about self-indulgent, self-congratulatory award ceremonies. I mean, how many black people do you think get invited to these things? Especially as opposed to how many black people probably work these things. Not to mention anyone of another color. I mean, I could probably actually NAME all the black people who are going to be at the Academy Awards this year (as an aside, how many people of color do you think are in the Academy?). The cast of Hotel Rwanda, Sidney Poitier, Denzel Washington, Morgan Freeman, the cast of Ray, and Whoopi Goldberg. And that�s probably it. The people who plan such things and the people who run the networks that air them are clearly not concerned with the fact that people of color would like to see themselves on the screen occasionally, so why should Rock be concerned with offending them?

Or is it because he said gay people watch the Oscars? Come on, people! Are you really going to jump on him because he thinks gay brothers watch the Academy Awards? I think he�s given a succinct explanation as to why a black person might watch the Oscars. Are all gay guys obsessed with fashion or awards ceremonies? Of course not. But does that mean somebody can�t make a joke about it? No. I guess I don�t know who is calling the remarks controversial or why. No one has explicitly come out and said that he�s being homophobic or that he should have more respect for the Oscars. But the attention being paid to a few little words seems huge to me. It�s like the whole FCC mentality we have. No one is quite sure what�s wrong with what he said�but they all know for sure that there is something wrong with it.

before -- after





Terror Alert Level

� miss any?
Good bye. - March 12, 2006
2006 - January 10, 2006
I'm damn smart. The internet says so. - December 22, 2005
Rape. - December 09, 2005
Scatterbrain. - November 28, 2005

written on February 23, 2005 at 10:30 a.m.
latest
older
profile
random facts
fucklist
wishes
links
booklist
rings'n'cliques
quotes
notes
design
host