Go Cubs go!


There is hope.

GO CUBS!!!!!!!! Yeah! They won Game 1 like the badasses they are! And, well, they lost Game 2, but they are playing the Braves and, like my dad said, did we expect them to sweep the Braves? No, we did not. They are a real team who can get things going and I'm so happy! I didn't expect us to get past the Braves but the last two games have convinced me we have a real chance. I haven't been able to watch much baseball this year until September but we are well-matched to the Braves and I really think we can pull this thing out. And Prior is starting tomorrow night, I'm hoping Randall Simon will be starting, and, of course, there are always Sosa and Alou. I'm getting all tingly just thinking about it!! GO CUBBIES!!

***

I feel like so much has happened in the last week, yet nothing much has happened at all. Cubs won (woo-hoo!), the Bruce concert was fantastic (with some disappointing parts - no fault of Bruce, of course); I found out my grade for my thesis and for my MA overall: I received a 2:1 on my MA and "just below a 2:1" on my thesis (which really is a 2:2, but my supervisor couldn't bring herself to say it, I guess). As far as I can tell, a 2:1 is a B+ average, when converted to American grades. It's a high second class honors, and apparently first class honors are like practically unheard of. I guess that means I did okay. I wish I'd gotten a 2:1 on the dissertation too, though. Although, considering how much I did NOT work hard on it, I guess the grade is appropriate. And I still don't have a job. The cock knockers at my old firm haven't called me back and I just can't bring myself to call them. I feel like I'd be begging for this lame ass job that I don't even want and I just can't do it. So I guess I have to start looking for a job all on my own. I hate that.

On a brighter note, I'm going to see Eddie Izzard tonight. My parents saw the show on Tuesday and they loved it, so now I'm really looking forward to it. Yay for British transvestite comics! Plus P Doody is coming in this weekend since it's Homecoming (I wonder if I will ever stop thinking of my life in terms of a high school time line). And we're babysitting my nephew on Saturday night. Hopefully, I can still go out Saturday night. I think it'll be okay, I'll stay in next Saturday night because we'll be babysitting again but my mom will be out of town at her 35 year college reunion. And, by the way, that is just so crazy. I mean, for one thing, her college doesn't even exist anymore. I don't even know where they're going to have the actual reunion. My dad will still be here because of football and shit but I'm sure she wouldn't want him to come anyway. It was a women's college and I doubt anyone lets their significant others come, even if they are women. They kick it old school - sit and smoke and drink coffee and talk about the Beatles. Okay, I don't really know what they do, but I do know that's what they did in college.

Speaking of reunions, my ten year high school reunion is this Saturday. God, never in my life have I wanted to go somewhere less. Neither me nor Snap are going to go. She's the only person from high school I have any interest in seeing anyway. Plus, there were a lot of people I didn't like in high school and some people I've fallen out with since and I've just decided that no good can come of it. I kind of wish I was still in Ireland so that that could be my excuse but no one there would know my excuse anyway and I really have grown beyond needing the approval of people like that, but you know what I mean. And even though I am satified with where I'm at and where I'm going, being unemployed and living with your parents sounds bad to these type of people and I don't want to be judged or do something lame, like lie. So just forget it. Fuck 'em.

before -- after





Terror Alert Level

� miss any?
Good bye. - March 12, 2006
2006 - January 10, 2006
I'm damn smart. The internet says so. - December 22, 2005
Rape. - December 09, 2005
Scatterbrain. - November 28, 2005

written on October 02, 2003 at 3:28 p.m.
latest
older
profile
random facts
fucklist
wishes
links
booklist
rings'n'cliques
quotes
notes
design
host