In which I blab about nothing at all, really.


There is hope.

All right, I'm trying to change some shit on my layout and it keeps telling me I don't have a damn Gold membership! I renewed it this morning so it better be fixed tonight. Anyway, only 5 days until the march! I'm so excited! I think there are going to be tons of people there and that it's really going to help a lot. I don't want to sound all dorky, but the press this march is getting is really making me happy. It was all over Marie Claire and Glamour this month and those magazines are really mainstream and hardly what you'd call leftist...or even feminist. And there's a list somewhere of celebrities who have lent their names to it, which (regardless of your attitudes toward the celebrity-whore mind set of this nation) I think will also really help make people sit up and notice that women aren't going to continue to sit out and let old white men make decisions about their bodies and lives. And I'm going with my mom so it'll be all girly bonding and shit. And I just think that being in a place with so many other people who believe in the same thing I do will be really heartening. Now if we could just get that lying, incompetent murderer out of the White House, I'd feel really good.

*****

I finally have my lunch hours back and will be able to increase my internet time. Plus my bro D has the cable internet so I'm going to be over there begging for online time. Sweet. This weekend was pretty good. Didn't go out Friday night but Saturday me and P Doody went to D's place to watch the Cubs LOSE! But we drank some beer and smoked some weed and it was a good time. We were supposed to watch Chris Rock's new special but by the time it came on everyone else was pretty drunk. They were playing that stupid drinking game "Asshole" and shouting at each other about the rules. As a rule, I don't really like drinking games and I hate cards so "Asshole" is not really my thing. I was trying to listen to the TV but the show wasn't that funny anyway. I think I'm going to have to stop saying that Chris Rock is my favorite comedian. I hate his take on women and this new one (I don't even remember the name of it) was almost all about women. He's talking about going to strip clubs and getting lap dances (which I don't object to on its own) and then he has the fucking nerve to go on about how superior he is to strippers. Um, dude? You're the one frequenting the so-called gentlemen's club, how in the hell does that make her different from you? If you don't go, she can't dance. Asshole.

*****

I can't believe that April is almost over! It's almost summer for crying out loud. And it's been so nice here the last few days. In the 80s! Too weird. Of course it's going to cool off again but that's okay. I'm not ready to be sweating all day yet (not that I ever am).

*****

I saw Something's Gotta Give last week and it depressed the shit out of me. There were some funny scenes and Frances McDormand's speech about older men and younger women (which seemed to be the sole reason she was cast at all) was the shit. But afterwards when I was thinking about it, I was sooooooo annoyed with it. First of all, it was all about Jack. Everyone else was a bit player whose character was there solely as a reflection of his. Plus? It was so cliched and trite I could barely stand it. First of all (and I'm not just saying this because I would nail Keanu in a second) it played out exactly like every other "bad boy turns good" story you've ever heard. Everyone knows how amazing she is (including us) from the first second but it takes Jack, what? The better part of a year?? Keanu's character was nothing but respectful, courteous, sweet, and in love with her from the beginning. Not to mention fucking hot. And she fucks him over. I know you can't control who you fall in love with but seriously, it's a movie. The writers can control who falls in love with who. So she throws over the nice guy for the asshole (as usual) and pines until the asshole figures out how great she is and that, whoa, what a surprise! he is in love with her after all. Is it supposed to be kind of cutting edge 'cause their old or something? As for Jack's cradle robber being redeemed? I couldn't possibly care less. And why couldn't Diane's character end up with Keanu's? Because Jack was the star? Bullshit.

And that whole thing about Amanda Peet's character all deciding to take risks in love and then immediately she gets a husband and a baby. I mean, could they be any more blatant? Because, of course, all young women want husbands and kids. And if they just behave themselves, then God will bless them with such riches. LOAD OF CRAP! Plus, of course, these people are all rich, good looking, and have no other problems besides deciding who they're gonna fuck. I mean, could Diane Keaton's character have been anymore special?? God, she was a talented world famous playwright with a house in the Hamptons. She spoke French AND had a favorite cafe in Paris. She's thin, she dresses well. God, who wouldn't want to be her? Amanda Peet too. Yet, of course, they weren't happy...but they deserved to be because they were so fucking special. What about all of us who can only speak English (and not very well)? Or have a mundane office job that doesn't even remotely put our degrees to use? Or prefer beer to wine? Or have to buy new wardrobes every few months because, at 30, we are still growing out of our clothes? Don't WE deserve love? Or happiness? Yeah, talk to me after they make The Truth About Cats And Dogs about ME and Uma Thurman.

before -- after





Terror Alert Level

� miss any?
Good bye. - March 12, 2006
2006 - January 10, 2006
I'm damn smart. The internet says so. - December 22, 2005
Rape. - December 09, 2005
Scatterbrain. - November 28, 2005

written on April 19, 2004 at 12:22 p.m.
latest
older
profile
random facts
fucklist
wishes
links
booklist
rings'n'cliques
quotes
notes
design
host