Music is life.


There is hope.

Lately I've been revisiting music I listened to when I was a teenager. It wasn't all that long ago but the music is so different, it seems much longer ago. They play 1980s and 1990s stuff on the radio station I listen to and every once in a while (between the millionth time they've played "Mickey" and "If I Ever Lose My Faith In You") they play like Debbie Gibson or Expose and I get all nostalgic. Not 'cause I liked being 16 or whatever but because those songs were really fun. So I've gone on another CD spending spree. I just got "Tiffany's Greatest Hits" from Amazon.

*****

Sidebar: I've started getting all my shit sent to work since my father will not stop giving me a hard time about my online shopping. I mean, it's not like I don't know I spend too much money but it's not really any of his business. I mean, if they want to start charging me rent or something, they can but I know that's not actually going to happen so he can just shut up. End sidebar.

*****

So I've gotten some Debbie Gibson and New Kids but I've also finally gotten on the Loretta Lynn bandwagon. I've been meaning to at least get a greatest hits compilation with "Coal Miner's Daughter" on it at some point just because who doesn't love "Coal Miner's Daughter"? No one, that's who. But I was reading about this record she just did that Jack White from The White Stripes produced. It sounded really cool and got good reviews and, if nothing else, was going to have Loretta Lynn singing on it. Well, it is just terrific. I don't know The White Stripes at all but I think one of my brothers has a CD and now I definitely want to listen to it. I love finding new music to enjoy! It's the most fun thing ever. Well, mostly.

*****

I'm going to Minneapolis for Memorial Day weekend and I have to make mix tapes from my new CDs for my journey. I'm so psyched! The only thing better than finding new music to enjoy is making mix tapes from said music. I'm all about making really contrasting mix tapes. I just got "Straight Outta Compton" and the soundtrack to "The Flower Drum Song," along with the other CDs I mentioned earlier. These mix tapes are going to ROCK! Throw in a little Karen Carpenter and The Dixie Chicks and I'm done! I am also going to make a new mix that's strictly country in honor of the relatives I'm going to see in Minnesota. They are small town kinda people (I mean that in only the good ways) and they love them some country. Hee, my uncle Greg alone is country enough for the whole damn state! And I'm going to see my uncle Scott in a show. He's in his forties, unmarried, and does muscial comedy...hmm. Yes, he's my gay uncle. He's also my very favorite so I wanted to go see his show and tell him how great he is 'cause everyone needs to hear that every once in a while. And I haven't seen him since before I went to Dublin and I've missed him.

*****

Work's going. I don't have many strong feelings about it one way or another. And I have offered to take my nephew off my sister and brother-in-law's hands for a weekend in June. I want to take him to the zoo and the swimming pool. Hopefully this doesn't cure me of wanting kids. He's a sweetie though and I think it'll be lots of fun.

before -- after





Terror Alert Level

� miss any?
Good bye. - March 12, 2006
2006 - January 10, 2006
I'm damn smart. The internet says so. - December 22, 2005
Rape. - December 09, 2005
Scatterbrain. - November 28, 2005

written on May 26, 2004 at 12:19 p.m.
latest
older
profile
random facts
fucklist
wishes
links
booklist
rings'n'cliques
quotes
notes
design
host