Being on Hooker-Chic.


There is hope.

Cubs win! We're leading the series 2-1 now because Randall Simon is my boyfriend.

***

It is very heartening to see that many people get to my diary by typing "feminism quotes" (or some variation thereof) into Google. Only very few search for "fuck feminism."

***

So, I have an issue with Beyonce Knowles. I was never much of a Destiny's Child fan but I love Crazy In Love more than any human should love a song, so I bought her Dangerously In Love CD recently. It's a good record and I like a lot of the songs. But I take issue with Ms. Knowles' presentation of herself. I think she is an exceptionally beautiful woman. She has a sweet smile, a great body that isn't stick-insect thin, and great hair (weave or no, Martha ). I think she has terrific charisma and, through Destiny's Child and her new solo effort, I think that she has proved that she has star quality and is here to stay. So. My question for Ms. Knowles is this: Why do you still sell yourself as a sexual object? I understand that everyone wants to feel attractive and wants people to think they are sexy. But she's established and she has real talent. I can understand why Britney Spears is always going to hit us over the head with her sex bomb-ness because she can't really sing, and doesn't have great songs. Basically the only thing she can do well is shake her ass (ditto for Christina Aguilera). But Beyonce Knowles is in a whole other category. She's a household name. She's even famous enough to go by one name - Beyonce. (Sidebar I: except in my house. I was telling my dad that I had gone to the record store and, like the wiener he is, he was all like "What did you get me?" and I said, "Nothing. Unless you want Beyonce's new record." And he goes, "I have no idea what you just said." Hee.) She is what I would consider a bona fide superstar. Or at least well on her way. And she still dresses kinda skanky. What's that about? I know the super-sexual Black woman is a stereotype we can all do without. So why doesn't she? (Sidebar II: I'm sure she knows that. I'm just frustrated.) It's unfair that, in general, women in entertainment have to sell sex in order to even remotely have their talent considered (see Sheryl Crow, among others) but I do see that it can help. But it's after everyone knows that you rule that I think it's a little unforgivable. I'm not saying that she doesn't look unbelievable in the little blue satin skirt in the picture in the CD. Nor am I saying that dancing provocatively isn't fun. I wear clothes that show off my assets (such as they are). When I dance, I pretty much only use my hips. I know these things are fun. There isn't anything inherently wrong with them. But. It's kind of like when established, respected actresses pose for those horrid Maxim covers (hello again, Ms. Knowles) or for Playboy. Ladies, what are you doing to us? We know you are sexy and beautiful. Now can you put on a shirt?

Presumably these actresses, and Beyonce Knowles, have some control over their public image. And they still choose to go the sex kitten route. The sad truth is, though, that women who choose not to prostitute themselves are invariably less popular and make less money. It is a conundrum. And I certainly don't have the answer. It makes me sad, though, that someone who is so obviously fabulous, like Beyonce Knowles, is still stuck with using really short skirts as the most effective way of making people really take notice of her. People like Kathy Najimy or Melissa Etheridge spent years working really hard and trying to show people their talent. It took them forever to achieve any level of success. And I still wouldn't consider either one of them a household name in this country. And they are both fantastically good at what they do. But they aren't sexpots. I guess I don't really have a point. I mean, I get it (I don't like it, but I get it) when Pamela Anderson Lee or like Jenny McCarthy poses for Maxim, but Helena Bonham Carter? C'mon! She's the queen of Merchant-Ivory! She's a talented, successful, popular actress for Pete's sake! God, the day that Emma Thompson poses for the cover of Maxim, I'm tearing up my feminist membership card.

before -- after





Terror Alert Level

� miss any?
Good bye. - March 12, 2006
2006 - January 10, 2006
I'm damn smart. The internet says so. - December 22, 2005
Rape. - December 09, 2005
Scatterbrain. - November 28, 2005

written on October 11, 2003 at 12:52 a.m.
latest
older
profile
random facts
fucklist
wishes
links
booklist
rings'n'cliques
quotes
notes
design
host