And to all a good night.


There is hope.

I know, I don't update anymore. I have been really busy working late and Christmas shopping. And I have zero time for internet at work. On the plus side, the days go really fast. Although, what that really means is that I don't have enough time in one day to do all my shit. But I'm being very Zen (sort of) about it all and not letting it bother me. Except for the occasional "Don't do this to me, you little bitch!" directed at my assbag computer. But that's nothing new.

***

I went to my nephew's third birthday party last night. I gave him a ton of gifts that were for birthday and Christmas. And his father's mother kept going on and on about how many gifts I bought. I think she thought I was spoiling him ridiculously. Which, of course, I was. But who cares? Besides, they weren't all for his birthday, he just opened them all last night. Anyway, I got him a little wooden acoustic guitar that he wouldn't take off after his dad put a strap on it. That made me feel good. And the best part? It's bright blue. Blue rules.

***

I'm really out of it. I'm running low on sleep and couldn't really sleep past ten this morning. My mom was trying to tape some football game for my dad. He's in a bad mood currently and she didn't want to fuck it up and make it worse. Which, can I just say? Fucking sucks. If I can find anyone that I can stand long enough to marry them, he is going to be the fucking polar opposite of my father. He has these bouts of unreasonable rage that shouldn't be directed at any one person because no person actually did anything wrong (like, say, oh, I don't know, the VCR wouldn't work and one little fucking football game didn't get taped? maybe? for instance?) but he just sets about making everyone else's life miserable until he gets over it. Which could take like five minutes or five days. Ah, the joys of living at home. Anyway, she couldn't make the VCR work. So, what does she do? Does she come into my bedroom and say "Sorry to wake you up, Margy, but could you please take a look at the VCR? It just isn't working for me and I thought that maybe you could take a crack at it? Thanks." No. She stands in the TV room, about ten feet from my open bedroom door, alternately muttering swear words under her breath, letting out these unbelievably loud sighs, and periodically grunting loudly in frustration. I got so annoyed that I just got up, went into the TV room, took the VCR remote from her, and did it my damn self. Which is what I know she wanted. All she had to do was ask.

***

So, the fam is going up north tomorrow until Friday to spend Christmas with my mom's family. Me and my sister and her family can't go. We have, like, real jobs that aren't at high schools where they get every third day off for something. Anyway, I can't decide if I should go to my sister's for Christmas or just stay here all day by myself. I have to work the 24th and the 26th, so I'm really leaning towards just staying here. I mean, I'll probably open all my gifts early anyway because I have the self-control of a gnat. And she lives pretty far from my house, and even farther from work. I know my ass is going to be fucking tired, so I don't think I'll bother. I don't think they'll mind. I would like to see my nephew wake up and be all like "It's Christmas!" and shit but is it worth all the driving and sleeping on the pull out couch? The committee's still out on that.

***

I finished all my shopping on Thursday. Everyone has a gift. And pretty awesome gifts, if I do say so myself. My gift to my brother in law was a hit at the party last night (my sister and brother in law opened their gifts last night from me and the rest of the fam since we won't see them again before Christmas) and I think my sister really liked what I gave her. The only gifts that I think are lame are the ones I got for my dad. He's really hard to buy for and he gave me absolutely no help this year. I got him a CD and a DVD. Really generic, I know. But all he would talk about is wanting to get some huge flat screen TV. I'm like, what? Do you think, even if all four of us kicked in, that we could even remotely afford to buy that shit for you?? He must be taking better drugs than I can get my hands on. Everyone is completely, and I mean totally, broke except for me. And that's because I'm taking one for the team and living at home. No rent, no living expenses, life is sweet. But P Doody is in college and has no kind of job; D has a car and an apartment and a girlfriend, so his paycheck is spoken for; my sister and bro in law have a kid and a house. Who exactly is going to have a random $100 (or even $50) sitting around for his big shiny new toy? No one, that's who. I'm kind of laying into my dad today. He's an okay guy a lot of the time. But he's annoyed me a lot in the last week, so I sound a little more spiteful today than I might another day. Anyway, they're taking me out to dinner at the Greek place tonight since they're leaving me alone for Christmas. And hopefully I will also get to go see Bad Santa, since that's all I really want for Christmas this year!

***

I hope everyone has a safe and happy holiday/solstice/whatev. Peace.

before -- after





Terror Alert Level

� miss any?
Good bye. - March 12, 2006
2006 - January 10, 2006
I'm damn smart. The internet says so. - December 22, 2005
Rape. - December 09, 2005
Scatterbrain. - November 28, 2005

written on December 20, 2003 at 12:47 p.m.
latest
older
profile
random facts
fucklist
wishes
links
booklist
rings'n'cliques
quotes
notes
design
host