Life is good.


There is hope.

This is so bizarre, I've never updated at work before. I feel vaguely naughty. I am at lunch though, not just slackin' off. Which I couldn't because I do nothing at all ever except work. I got home at 9:30 last night, washed my face, and went to bed. I know you're all jealous of the life I lead.

*****

I saw Hairspray, the musical, last Thursday and it was the most fun I've ever had! Bruce Vilanch played Edna Turnblad and he was hilarious and everyone else was just so funny and talented and good and I was so happy when I left. I was thoroughly entertained. I've been listening to the soundtrack non-stop ever since. The play goes a lot farther with the racism and fat activism stuff than the movie did. Not that the movie doesn't rule all, they just did it slightly differently in the play. I really just can't say enough great things about it. Go see it now.

*****

I had the best weekend. I went out with former co-workers on Friday night, and that was really fun. Then I got my hair cut and dyed (omigod, did I need it!) on Saturday morning. That always gives me a confidence boost. Then Saturday night provided me with one of the weirdest experiences I've ever had. I had a huge crush on a wrestler boy in high school. My dad was his coach, and still coaches at my old high school, so I see this guy from time to time (the wrestling community is a small one). I had heard he'd been dating the same girl since he was like 16, so that kinda made him fall off the pedestal because, for some reason I really can't articulate, I find it odd and not appealing when people in their 20s are still with their high school significant others. It, like, signals a lack of growth or something. Anyway, he's apparently just broken up with her and had a new date at this wrestling team fundraiser on Saturday night. I know his mom too and I was talking to her while watching him (more in a curious way than a stalker way) when I all of a sudden developed this unnatural longing for-that's right-his younger brother. He's only two years younger but younger brother crushes really are unseemly, aren't they? It's just a crush and won't ever actually become anything, if only because I see them about two times a year, but still.

So after the fundraiser finished, we ended up at these beautiful boys' parents' house. This is where it got weird. I got high on the way over to their house and when we got there, everyone was plastered-man, woman, and child. I mean, they were like parents, for god's sake. It was so incredibly surreal. So I was a little laid back, drinking a beer, watching my crushes make their mom drinks. It ranks up there as one of the strangest nights I've ever experienced, I have to say.

before -- after





Terror Alert Level

� miss any?
Good bye. - March 12, 2006
2006 - January 10, 2006
I'm damn smart. The internet says so. - December 22, 2005
Rape. - December 09, 2005
Scatterbrain. - November 28, 2005

written on January 20, 2004 at 1:01 p.m.
latest
older
profile
random facts
fucklist
wishes
links
booklist
rings'n'cliques
quotes
notes
design
host