I'm surrounded by idiots.


There is hope.

I'm moving to the suburb I work in. This is a big step for me because the north shore is the country as far as I'm concerned. They don't have sidewalks, people! But I'm going to cut my commute by at least two-thirds (I think. Sorry Gloria Steinem, but for me math is hard.) and there's nothing wrong with that. I am rushed because of the move but I have less stress 'cause the big boss is gone for 2 weeks. Like, can't call in, completely out of touch for 2 weeks. He's on some intensive like rehab for quitting smoking and those people are serious, apparently. He wasn't even allowed to bring a laptop. Shit, I mean, fuck smoking, him not being able to be in touch with anyone here? THAT's what's going to give him a heart attack. Anyway, I get to watch my nephew this weekend, which will be, well, okay. I mean, I love to have him, but I am moving this weekend, so it might be a little tricky. But this receptionist situation is getting ridiculous. Not only is finding a permanent replacement proving to be damn near impossible, but all the temps we have had in are complete morons. I don't mean to be rude or anything (well, I kind of do) but, really, being a receptionist is not rocket science. The latest one was really promising at first but she's either forgotten all I told her or she's like rearranged what I told her into what she wants to do. I cringe every time she pages someone. It's seriously stressing me out that she's here. Not as seriously as the last one though. I haven't met many truly stupid people in my life, but boy, she sure qualified. She was only the second person I have ever met who I truly believe was dumb. Like, just did not learn. She kept fucking getting lost in the office. On the way to the bathroom. She was here the better part of three weeks and she not only couldn't remember anyone's name (there are only 14 people here) but she seriously couldn't find a bathroom to save her life. We have FOUR! I just...I know it's rude to make fun of someone who is...intelligence-challenged, but lord above, how did she ever hold down a job? But this new one seems to be forgetting things. The longer she's here, the less she remembers. I thought it was supposed to work the other way around. You know, learning by rote? Apparently not. I know I'm being crabby and unkind but I'm so tired of this doing 3 people's jobs thing. Well, that's not it exactly. If I was actually doing all 3 jobs, I would be less stressed, I think. Instead, I'm doing 2 and a half jobs, all while answering Temp's questions every five minutes AND stressing that she's totally saying something idiotic to our biggest client while opening confidential mail and NOT ANSWERING THE PHONE TIL THE FOURTH RING SO SHE CAN FINISH TELLING A STORY. I have never in my life had blood pressure trouble. What do you want to bet that my doctor will tell me I do after my next appointment? I know I have a certain arrogance when it comes to my brain and more often than not I assume that I am the smartest person in any given room. But, goddess, if I swore to never think that again...could you help a sister out? We have another interview on Wednesday morning. Please let her be smart and want the job and take the job and not quit after the first day. PLEASE?

before -- after





Terror Alert Level

� miss any?
Good bye. - March 12, 2006
2006 - January 10, 2006
I'm damn smart. The internet says so. - December 22, 2005
Rape. - December 09, 2005
Scatterbrain. - November 28, 2005

written on July 25, 2005 at 5:29 p.m.
latest
older
profile
random facts
fucklist
wishes
links
booklist
rings'n'cliques
quotes
notes
design
host